Friday, January 13, 2023

Quick Sips 01/13/2023

Still here. Still trying. Basically the song of my life for the last…while. I do wonder some times if you can just be sort of stuck in a loop of burnout and productivity. I mean…I do things. Many things, really, from reading and reviewing to participating in a number of other initiatives, plus my day job, plus plus plus. Heh. But somehow I am still stuck in the thinking that I should be able to do more, and I am sort of a disaster when it comes to communication, staying on top of deadlines, and generally not feeling like a wreck. But that’s been the case for a few years now. Whew.

Friday, January 6, 2023

Quick Sips 01/06/2023

Sorry about the recent absence! The end of the year just kicked me in the teeth and honestly I haven’t been settled enough to sit down and do an update. For all that, I don’t feel there’s even much to report. I am behind on a lot of things and in the middle of a lot of things and generally screaming. But that’s not precisely new. With the new year I will renew the resolution to be less of a fuckup than last year, but I haven’t had much luck with that historically, so… well, hope remains!

Friday, December 16, 2022

Quick Sips 12/16/2022

Snow. It has officially returned here where I live in Wisconsin, and I’m not a huge fan. I don’t exactly hate the snow. I’m well used to it now, really, having lived with it for so long. But it’s also a pain in the ass, and shoveling it is never my idea of a good time. But it’s here, and that’s what’s happened. Sigh. Other than that…well…there’s not a huge amount to tell.

Friday, December 9, 2022

Quick Sips 12/09/2022 Eligibility Post

It's the end of the year so I guess it's time that I do an eligibility post? That is what people do, and as much as I am struggling at the moment with most things, I will push myself to try. Because, while it's possible I did a little less in 2022 than 2021, it's not like I still haven't done...a lot. My fiction output might not be the highest, but I've still written many reviews, lists, and other things to help people navigate short speculative fiction, as well as co-edited with the amazing L.D. Lewis the second volume of We're Here: The Year's Best Queer Speculative Fiction. So for ease, I'll separate out my award eligible work into three categories.

Friday, December 2, 2022

Quick Sips 12/02/2022

Still here. Still trying. That’s basically my mantra as we move toward the end of the year. There’s a lot yet to do (so, so much yet to do), but I’m determined to do it, and to maybe catch myself up some. Patrons will have noticed that I slid way behind on Sips of the Week, and I’m starting to catch back up. Hopefully I’ll manage to close the year out strong on that. Some other things are still in the works. My recommended reading list is A Mess. My extra projects likewise. But I have gotten through worse. I will get through this. Thank you so much to everyone’s support during all this. You’re wonderful.

Friday, November 4, 2022

Quick Sips 11/04/2022

Wow I’m behind on a lot of things. Hmm. I mean, I guess it’s about time to check back in with how the year is going, and what’s working, and what’s not. After all, I’ve made some big changes over the last year, effectively stepping back from Quick Sip Reviews and stepping into my role as a columnist at Locus. I’ve also been settling in as series editor of We’re Here, and that’s been something as well. But…well, we’ll get there.

Saturday, October 29, 2022

Quick Sips 10/28/2022

Apologies for skipping last week, but things have been a bit busy around here. After the dog-tastrophe that happened a few weekends ago, there was the car trouble, and after the car trouble (or more like around the car trouble), there's been helping my husband get through some surgery and recuperating, and after and around that, M'Ress has a little cold. That, and *still* dealing with the non-profit drama with the local non-profit, though that hopefully will be improving (I live in hope). Just general screaming, really.