Friday, August 12, 2022

Quick Sips 08/12/2022

Hello again! By the time this releases publicly, voting for the Hugos will have closed, and I hope if you had a membership you took the time to vote. It’s a slightly strange place to be in, as a finalist once more in the Fanzine category, in part because it’ll likely be the last time that QSR is up for that prestigious award, which means it might also be my final time as a finalist. Maybe not, but there’s a strong chance. Coming off of winning the Locus, I find that it’s a little harder to push down the hope that QSR might win this year, but I also know that historically my little review blog that could doesn’t fare well in the final voting, so I will try not to let myself hope.

Friday, August 5, 2022

Quick Sips 08/05/2022

So voting closes for the Hugo awards on the 11th, and that means there’s less than ten days left to get those ballots in. Of course, I am up in the Fanzine category for Quick Sip Reviews (for the fourth year in a row) and would definitely be honored by any consideration during voting. It’s a little weird, as this might be the last time that QSR will be really eligible, given that it’s most just my weekly hot takes these days. But for seven years it was a source of wide short SFF coverage, and last year was its biggest year to date.

Friday, July 29, 2022

Quick Sips 07/29/2022

So not a whole lot to report this week. Travel for some medical stuff (I’m okay) is taking up a lot of my time and otherwise I’m waiting to get a new phone after suffering through going to the Verizon store (twice) and finally picking out a new phone and plan. Not exactly my idea of a good time. That plus non-profit stuff and starting to get ready for the release of We’re Here 2021 (which got a nice review from Publisher’s Weekly) has meant that I’m busy without having a huge amount to show for it (though hopefully soon at least I’ll have that phone).

Friday, July 22, 2022

Quick Sips 07/22/2022

Hi all! The good news is that I turned in my Locus column for the month (on time! Woo!) and have been very busy releasing some exciting things in my non-profit work. It has meant that I’m probably not as far as I’d like in my reading for next month, which will be another doozy, but I think I’m not in the worst place to get it done. So things continue. In sad news, my ability to attend WorldCon in person this year has fallen through, and I am rather bummed about that because I was hoping I’d be able to, it being in my quasi-hometown of Chicago (I’m from the suburbs). So…yeah.

Friday, July 15, 2022

Quick Sips 07/15/2022

Literally I’m mostly just reading this week. June turned out to be a behemoth of a month for short SFF releases, and July is no slouch either, what with a lot of the quarterlies I cover putting out works. That means without even counting Lightspeed and Fantasy, which have been a little late in getting out review materials this month, I’m staring down over 100 works of short SFF, including 30 from Decoded Pride and another ~20 from Strange Horizons thanks to the fund drive issue. Eff. As such, I might be pushing off reviewing the August LS/FM until next month (which might also include the September issues if those are out a little earlier next month). Just another month in the life of a short SFF reviewer.

Friday, July 8, 2022

Quick Sips 07/08/2022

Greetings all! Time has a way of getting away from me, but I’m doing my best I swear. This week has been a mixture of all things—stress, despair, excitement, pain, ambition. It’s just…difficult to exist in a time where everything seems on the verge of collapse. Which isn’t really new, historically speaking. So I’ve been devoting more time to my non-profit work for the local queer center and pushing more so that we can hopefully move to help people locally in building connections and networks to survive and to fight back against oppression and injustice. Which…I mean, it’s work but it’s also I feel important work. We’ll see how it goes.

Friday, July 1, 2022

Quick Sips 07/01/2022

Hey, so I guess I’m a Locus Award winner, huh? Or, to be more specific, We’re Here: The Best Queer Speculative Fiction 2020, co-edited by C.L. Clark and myself is a Locus Award winner, with tons of thanks and credit to the authors whose works we were fortunate enough to help spotlight and promote. It really is an honor to win an award, and for a project that I am so happy to be a part of. Our very first year, and it’s phenomenal to see the support in this way. Wow. It’s my first award win in general, and my first as an editor as well, which is pretty fantastic. Just really really happy here. I’ll need to clear some space on my writing shelf.